The Sunlight is Going Away

August 9, 2006

When I woke up this morning at 7 am, and then hit snooze for another hour, and then woke up again at 8 am, I couldn’t believe that it was so dark out still. I know that the darkness was due to the storm we had last night and the gloomy clouds that remained, but it reminded me that as summer fades away…so does our sunlight.

But then I remembered that my favorite season, FALL, will be here soon and I suddenly became happier. This morning, I have been giddy with red, yellow and orange maple leaves and the occasional jack-o-lantern dancing around in my head.

I’m already starting to get excited for our annual pumpkin carving party. Josh and I have had a pumpkin carving party at our home for the past 3 years! This is one tradition that I would like to keep for as long as possible.

I imagine for this year’s party I’ll do the following:

  • Put out my Tupperware halloween bowls with candy in them for everyone to see
  • Purchase body paints so we can paint my ever expanding belly as if it were a pumpkin
  • Put out two tables for people to carve on
  • Buy a halloween music CD to play in the background
  • Display pictures from the last three pumpkin carving parties
  • Force everyone to take a picture with their pumpkin and then a larger group picture

See, I know I’m crazy, but I can’t help it. Fall and Halloween are just so much fun!

Guess who’s under the pumpkin from our pumpkin carving party two years ago?

Leave a Reply

