A productive weekend

September 18, 2006

What a wonderful, and fast, weekend I just had. On Friday night, Josh and I put a crib together, and later I accomplished a whole lot on my T-Shirt quilt, with the help of my dear friend Chelsea of course. Josh and I woke up early enough on Saturday to rearrange the whole house. I’m serious. We pretty much rearranged 3 of the rooms in our house.

You see, everything became offset a bit when we put the crib in our bedroom. Well anyway, we rearranged and cleaned the house in time for our Sunday lunch, which went very well.

I found lasagna recipe online that seemed promising, and, in fact, turned out delicious. Now I have a lasagna recipe that I can use for years to come! Yay!

After we all ate lunch, the boys watched their football, and us women played Sequence. After everyone left, Josh and I took a Sunday afternoon nap that seemed to make us more tired. All in all…it was a great weekend.

Listed below is the recipe that I found online:

INGREDIENTS:
· 1 pound bulk Italian sausage (remove casings) ( I hated this part but the sausage tasted great in the recipe)
· 1 clove garlic, minced
· 1 can (14.5 ounces) tomatoes (I used a larger can of crushed tomatoes)
· 2 teaspoons dried basil
· 1 teaspoon dried oregano
· 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
· 2 cans tomato paste (6 ounces each)
· 10 ounces lasagne noodles (10 to 12 lasagna noodles)
· 3 cups ricotta cheese
· 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
· 2 tablespoons dried parsley flakes
· 2 eggs
· 1 teaspoons salt
· 1/2 teaspoon pepper
· 16 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded or thinly sliced
PREPARATION:
Brown sausage slowly; drain off excess fat. Add garlic, tomatoes, basil, oregano, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and tomato paste. Simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes, adding a little water if too thick. Cook lasagna noodles in boiling salted water according to package directions. In a bowl, combine ricotta cheese, Parmesan cheese, parsley, eggs, 1 teaspoon salt, and pepper.

Place a layer of noodles in bottom of a 13x9x2-inch baking dish or lasagna pan. Cover with a layer of mozzarella cheese then spoon 1/2 of ricotta mixture over mozzarella. Spoon 1/2 meat sauce over the cheese. Repeat layers. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes in a 375° oven.
Allow lasagna recipe to set a few minutes before serving.

One Response to “A productive weekend”

  1. Mom Says:

    Ok, I’m leaving a comment. Lets see if it works. Mom


Leave a Reply

