Ouch!

October 16, 2007

Sore boob + aches all over + fatigue + night sweats + cold hands = Mastitis

Yesterday, I felt the worst I’ve ever felt in my life. I called in to ask a nurse yesterday morning, to ask what I should do about my extremely sore boob (It kept me up all night it hurt so much), when I told her that I was still nursing my son, she said that I should go in to see a doctor because I might have Mastitis.

Yes, that is what I had. The Doc confirmed it. And boy am I glad that I went in when I did. I got antibiotics, which I started taking yesterday morning. They really didn’t start working until this morning. So, yesterday afternoon, I had the shivers and just felt extremely cold all day long. My hands were freezing. My body ached so that every movement involved a great work effort on my part.

And on top of that, I my boob still really really hurt. I didn’t feel the complete wrath of the infection until I picked up Raleigh last night and had to put him back down because it hurt too much to hold him.

I spent most of the night on the couch in sweat pants, sweatshirt, and wrapped in a blanket because I was so cold. I finally warmed up though, only to experience night sweats. I woke up numerous times in the night to find out that I was sweating profusely. ICK! I hate sweating, and I hate it even more when I’m trying to sleep.

So, how does one develop Mastitis? Glad you asked.

According to the Mayo Clinic:

“Mastitis occurs when bacteria infect your breast through a break or crack in the skin of your nipple or through the opening to the milk ducts in your nipple. Bacteria from your skin’s surface and baby’s mouth enter the milk duct and can multiply — leading to pain, redness and swelling of the breast as infection progresses.”

Raleigh has been sick, with a runny nose, for the past 3 or 4 days. So I’m blaming the snotty-nose-latch-on for causing my Mastitis.

The good news: I’m feelign tons better this morning. I still get some hot flashes, and my boob still hurts. But the all-over body aches are gone.

I am religiously taking my antibiotic pill every 6 hours.

One Response to “Ouch!”

  1. Sweet Mary Sunshine Says:

    Thank God it’s only temporary! When it’s time for weaning, call me for support. (Moral, not physical.) You have to take it way slower than some might imagine – or else it is awful. You’re such a good mama. I look forward to seeing you soon!


Leave a Reply

