Furnace woes

January 15, 2008

Josh, Raleigh and I did some winter camping last night…well that’s what it felt like. Last night, after our trip to the YMCA, we realized that our furnace wasn’t working. So, first I called my dad, who told me to open up the door on the furnace…after seeing the warnings about natural gas and possible death, I decided to call a service technician and not fool around in there myself.

I called a furnace repair company at around 8:30 last night. They said they would put us on the waiting list; there were already 5 people on the list.

I decided to go to sleep at 11 pm and Josh agreed to wait for the furnace repair guy. At this point, our house was about 60 degrees (F). We bundled Raleigh up in extra clothes and wrapped him in plenty of blankets.

I woke up at 3 am. Josh was still awake and waiting for the repair man. Raleigh was still sleeping and warm. Our house was now 55 degrees (F). I called the same company again and the person on the phone said they’d page the on-call technician again. I went back to bed.

I woke up at 6 am. Still no repair man. Our house was now 50 degrees (F). I whipped out the phone book and called all of the furnace repair companies and said whoever gets here first gets the job.

We still waited until 8:15 for a repair man to show up. It took him 1 hour and 15 minutes to fix the furnace. It took a few hours to warm up the house again.

Now, I’m tired and cranky but warm. Raleigh didn’t seem to notice the cold environment around him. I think he enjoyed waddling around the house in his snowsuit and hat. I, however, hated wearing my jacket, hat and mittens in my own house.

I can’t wait to get the service bill in the mail.

Leave a Reply

