Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2008

Oh, the anticipation. The thrill. The waiting. No, I’m not just talking about the big event that will happen for us in January. I’m talking about the way that I felt as a child growing up on this night. The eve that prepared little minds and bodies for the massacre of wrapping paper the next morning.

I’d like to say that I have some major religious connection to the way that I felt growing up, but I can’t really say that. I can’t say it was greed either. It is the same reason that I loved every holiday. Time with family and normally, everyone was in great spirits. We could see cousins that we didn’t get to see year round. We could eat the delicious foods that mom or grandma made. There were plenty of cookies around this time of year, not just because they were good and sweet and delicious but also because running the stove helped keep the house warm on the cold cold days and nights in MN.

Tonight, more than ever, I look forward to nights that are different than these. I look forward to Christmas Eve dinners with more family members. Raleigh and I had left over lasagna tonight, while Josh ate some cookies. I look forward to Christmas days with a whole boat-load of toys under the tree and anxious kids waking Josh and I up way to early. I look forward to watching whatever Christmas parade is on, or making a trip to the skating rink.

Plenty of good things to look forward to. Plenty of good memories behind me too. I feel right now, like we are slightly disconnected from the past Christmas goodness, and we are on the brink of the future Christmas goodness. It’s an interesting place to be right now. Waiting for our own family traditions to sort themselves out.

What will our children carry on from their childhood holiday traditions to their own families? It’s just too exciting to think about.

I hope that all of my readers have a very blessed Christmas and that you all are surrounded by your family and loved ones. As that is the best way to spend Christmas.

Leave a Reply

