Happy Birthday Grandpa Harry!

March 26, 2009

 

For those of you who know me personally, you may have heard me mention a very long bicycle trip that I went on when I was 16. Well, my Grandpa Harry was the reason that I was able to have such an amazing experience.  He purchased a touring bike for me, he paid for the hotel stays and the food, and it was his fabulous suggestion to take the trip in the first place.

It was close to a 1500 mile bike trip and it took us 23 cycling days to complete.

012

Above: Grandpa demonstrating the strong headwind that we were biking into.

Below: Grandpa on his bike with all of his panniers on.

013 014

Above: You can’t tell that it is me, but I am standing on a the bridge over the Red River in Grand Forks. This was the summer after the 1997 flood there.

Below: Not sure what Grandpa has in his hand but he sure looks excited.

011 015

Above: Grandpa posing with the bicycle that he bought me. ( I still have it and I still love it)

Thanks Grandpa for such a great experience! And Happy 80th birthday!

Leave a Reply

