Raleigh-isms

February 21, 2010

To make up for my forgetting to post last Friday, I’ve decided to post again today with some of the fun conversations that we have with Raleigh.

 

Me: “Raleigh, are your pants on backwards?”

Raleigh: “No, they are on forwards.”

**************

The other day, I was in the kitchen and Raleigh came running up to me and this is the conversation that followed:

Raleigh: “Mom? Can I have a damsnack? Please?”

Me: “huh? what is a damsnack? Do you mean a snack pack?”

Raleigh: “No, I want a damsnack.”

I was confused and didn’t know what a “damsnack” was. I looked away from Raleigh and saw Josh just laughing silently in the kitchen doorway.

TEN MINUTES EARLIER

Raleigh: “Dad I wannna snack.”

Josh: “No, you’ve already had your snack.”

Raleigh: “I wanna snack, I wanna snack!”

Josh: “No, you cannot have another snack”

Raleigh:  (As sweat as possible) “Please, Dad, can I have a snack?”

Josh: “No”

Raleigh: (In a whining voice and an abnormal decibel level) “I wanna snack, I wanna snack, I wanna snack” X 10 repetitions

Josh: (Frustrated) “No, you’ll get your DAMN snack after dinner at the normal time”

Raleigh: “OK, I’ll go ask mom.”

 

DISCLAIMER: We don’t teach our children bad words. We accidentally say them out of frustration and then when Raleigh repeats them later, we try to ignore him and snicker to ourselves silently while trying to distract him into talking about something else.

 

**************

Me: “Raleigh, what do you want on your pizza? Do you want pepperoni?”

Raleigh: “I want ice cream pizza”

Josh: “What kind of ice cream do you want on your pizza?”

Raleigh: “Sugar ice cream”

 

DISCLAIMER: We didn’t really feed him ice cream pizza. We often like to indulge his imagination with equally weird follow up questions.

Leave a comment