Some Gem-like pictures

July 20, 2010

Every once and a while, my kids and my camera bless me with just beautiful pictures. Of course it helps if I dress my kids up for the pictures and do their hair like the photo of Leah below.

IMG_4791

And this picture of Raleigh…I’m not sure what to think of it.  The photo elements are great, the color is great, the focus is great…but, I can’t help thinking that my son looks like he’s going to shoot down a carrier pigeon with that water squirting toy. His facial expression just makes it worse…his brow is furrowed, his jaw is stern. I wonder if he will like to hunt some day…

IMG_4811

And another gem – this time all my favorite people (well not all, but definitely close to all) in one picture.

IMG_4844

But you know what picture I am most excited about right now? Well, it’s not the picture itself, but it’s what is in the picture that excites me.

Drumroll pleeeeeeeze!

IMG_4848

I got myself ( Ok, I share it with Josh) a KINDLE!

IMG_4850

I’m not sure what I’ll read on it first, but I have a whole bunch of Jane Austen novels on there now. (Can you believe that I have never read a Jane Austen novel?)

IMG_4853

4 Responses to “Some Gem-like pictures”

  1. Lanae Says:

    Jealous! I’m using my mother-in-law’s Kindle right now and I LOVE it! Maybe for my birthday I’ll get one (not til Nov.) Did you look at the Nook at all? I’m just wondering how that one is. Enjoy your new toy!

    • shyjosh Says:

      I have waited so long for my Kindle. I got a refurbished one off of Amazon for $109. Brand new, the smaller ones are only $189 now. So far, I am super happy with it.

      I have a coworker who has the kindle and a coworker who has the nook. They both love their reading devices and have nothing but good things to say about them both.

  2. Beseler Says:

    Hey, just ran across this post Shyla and saw the Kindle. I have a Nook and love it, although I’m sure the Kindle works great as well 🙂

    • shyjosh Says:

      Yah, I’ve heard good things about the nook as well. I have two coworkers who have ereaders, one has a nook and the other has a kindle. It came down to price for me. I found this Kindle on Amazon.com refurbished for $109. The price pretty much sealed the deal for me. I love it so far, but am worried about how much more money I’ll be spending on books. It is too easy to purchase new ones 🙂


Leave a Reply

